You are here

Court Information

The Western District for Tennessee was established on January 31, 1797, by Stat. 496. The District had one Judgeship filled by John McNairy. Presently, the Western District consists of nine District and four Magistrate Judges. Our District Court has jurisdiction over federal cases arising in 22 counties located in the western part of the state. The District consists of two divisional offices: the Eastern Division is located in Jackson, Tennessee, and the Western Division is located in Memphis, Tennessee. We have included a District map that shows the counties within our district and indicates the counties covered by each divisional office, which will assist you in determining the correct division in which to file your case. Caseload statistics and other metrics are available on the Administrative Office's website.